Cricket: England to Play Over 20 International Games in Jam-Packed 2017 Home Schedule

Posted by

London: England on Friday announced their 2017 home international fixture programme with tours by South Africa and the West Indies included in a busy schedule that will also see England staging the ICC Champions Trophy in June.

In addition, they will also play host to the women’s World Cup from June 26 to July 3.

England will begin their 2017 home season with two one-day internationals against Ireland at Bristol and Lord’s on May 5 and 7 — the first time they have met the Irish on English soil.

Later in May, they face South Africa in three ODIs which will serve as warm-up fixtures for the Champions Trophy — a tournament for the world’s top eight teams in 50-over cricket — which begins with England’s match against Bangladesh at The Oval on June 1.

Once the Champions Trophy, which finishes with a final at The Oval on June 18, is over, England and South Africa will play three Twenty20s — including the first match at Taunton since the 1983 World Cup.

England then have a gruelling schedule of seven Tests in just under 10 weeks, four against South Africa starting at Lord’s on July 6 before a three-match series with the West Indies commencing on August 17. There has been speculation that the first match of the West Indies series, at Edgbaston, could be England’s inaugural home day/night Test but the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has not confirmed its status.

Once the Tests are finished, England will play the the West Indies in a one-off Twenty20 and five-match ODI series, with the English international season concluding at southern county Hampshire’s Ageas Bowl headquarters on September 29.

“With three different international teams coming here next summer and this country playing host to two major ICC global events — the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Women’s World Cup — there will be a feast of international cricket to excite us in England and Wales,” said ECB chief executive Tom Harrison.

“Both the international and the domestic schedule will have a different shape to previous years. And the early season block for the Royal London One-Day (50-over) Cup — with a new mid-season date for its Lord’s final — July 1 — will support both England’s ICC Champions Trophy preparations and our longer term planning for the ICC Cricket World Cup in (England) in 2019.

“It will also allow players to focus skills on the white-ball game and help more people to understand the structure of the season.”

2017 international cricket fixtures in England

England v Ireland

May 05: 1st ODI, Bristol

May 07: 2nd ODI, Lord’s

England v South Africa

May 24: 1st ODI, Headingley (d/n)

May 27: 2nd ODI, Ageas Bowl

May 29: 3rd ODI, Lord’s

Jun 21: 1st T20, Ageas Bowl (f)

Jun 23: 2nd T20, Taunton

Jun 25: 3rd T20, Cardiff

Jul 06-10: 1st Test, Lord’s

Jul 14-18: 2nd Test, Trent Bridge

Jul 27-31: 3rd Test, The Oval

Aug 04-08: 4th Test, Old Trafford

England v West Indies

Aug 17-21: 1st Test, Edgbaston

Aug 25-29: 2nd Test, Headingley

Sep 07-11: 3rd Test, Lord’s

Sep 16: T20, Chester-le-Street (f)

Sep 19: 1st ODI, Old Trafford (d/n)

Sep 21: 2nd ODI, Trent Bridge (d/n)

Sep 24: 3rd ODI, Bristol

Sep 27: 4th ODI, The Oval (d/n)

Sep 29: 5th ODI, Ageas Bowl (d/n)

ICC Champions Trophy

Jun 01-Jun 18: Matches at The Oval, Cardiff and Edgbaston

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh

Group B: India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s